4 comments on “Gaming Devs Gone Stupid

  1. Also, without those missions, where are we to get our Blue doff rewards from all the exploration mission cluster chains?!

    I see where you’re coming from. Heck, I ran a massive amount of exploration missions in my time (was one of the only ways to get diplo exp before they added doffs), but I don’t know. I’m not really saddened by the news. Recently, I just used exploration clusters as a means for a “quick STO fix”. Get that STO hit, but without the depth. Coming back after a long hiatus, jump in an explo mission to see if I can still maneuver my ship without looking like a total noob.

    But overall, I wasn’t the biggest fan of them. The randomness wasn’t really random and borked up often… kept helping the Borg find escaped convicts, for example. And I’d say promoting the Foundry is a better idea, but it’s not. Foundry is so hit and miss on quality.

    I think this opens up an opportunity, though, to make the Foundry better. Players making missions resembling those in the clusters, quick hit and run missions with text no longer than a tweet, might have a decent market. … I may finally throw my hand in to make one…

    • I would agree, but they appear to believe that Foundry is one of the great successes of the game! So I’m not sure there will be a push to “make it better.”

      Having just read Wilhelm’s post, I can concede that perhaps users of Exploration content were a minority of the player base, so if there is some desire to save money on resources, that would make sense. I guess.

      I never encountered borked missions. Mostly I just enjoyed loading my ship up with supplies/commodities and exploring everything the random planet generator had to offer.

      Oh well. Not the first time a game I enjoyed has decided to move in a direction I didn’t want to follow in. :-p

      • No, I think you were right. I don’t think it was really costing them any resources to keep them. They were always just… there. And really haven’t changed a single bit since game launch.

        Hehe to be fair, the ones I kept experiencing with borked stories were all in the Borg area… otherwise it was “holy crap! Look at the (random element) this planet has! Scan all the things!”… in other words, story was never why you played explo missions, too.

        They may act like its a success, but the Foundry has always been STO’s red-headed stepchild. new expansion, and the Foundry is down for weeks. They have never put a ton of effort into it, and I’d be shocked if they started now. If anything, the explo missions just highlighted how lackluster the Foundry was. :P

        I’m hoping, though, that it’s in preparation for an “exploration revamp”. Make it more engrained in the exploration of the known universe. They may not replace it now, but Cryptic works in slow waves. They are pretty good about listening to the fans, so we’ll see.

  2. I too enjoyed the exploration clusters. I realized early on that the number of missions was limited and repetitive, but I still got excited to beam down to a new world, or investigate a facility from time to time. It was fun to venture out with my own away team and not have to worry about any storyline except what happened to emerge from the gameplay itself.

Leave a Reply

