Meme 2: What’s in a Name?

I stole this one from Stylish Corpse, honestly because she’s the only blog I read regularly that does them, and they make for good short fodder when I don’t have time for one of my fuller posts.  Or when I’m hiding from Genda – did you see that?  I made him so mad, he double posted!

Anyway, here’s one get-to-know-me piece on naming and characters:

+++

1.  What is your current main character’s name (or names, if you play multiple games)?  Explain how you chose the name.

Well I currently am running two games EVE Online and (wait for it) Pirates of the Burning Sea.  EVE is great in that it eliminates the alt game and allows me to concentrate on just playing without spending hours crafting a suitable RP-friendly alt, even though I don’t really RP.  And because I have secret fears of being that guy who finally maxes a character with a name the just sounds silly or is spelled wrong.

In EVE I needed a good pilot name, so I thought Ace was good, but probably already taken.  I keep a book of baby names by the computer desk (I swear to you I am not making this up) and it yielded the alternate Acer.  The second name needed to reflect my desire to explore this game, and thus Tinkari (tinker-y).  Acer Tinkari.

In PotBS, my brother and I decided in our return to go fresh with a nation that was granting XP and cash bonuses to catch up.  So did our usual PotBS thing, choosing the same last name (so we could be brothers there too!) with varying first names.  And since we were French, the handy name book came up with some good ones for us.  I went Privateer this time, since I love my Cutthroat so much and came up with Sabre, which used to be a common French name apparently, paired with a suitably French name, which is easy, since that is where my name comes from – Martin.  Sabre Martin.  Sounds dangerous, oui?

2.  What was the name of your very first character in an MMO?  Explain how you chose that name.

Oh Lord was that a disaster.  I wanted to use the periodic name for Silver because I thought that would be cool.  Argentum.  Meh.  So I went with Argern or something like that.  But this was back in 2003 and Lord of the Rings rampant movie mania was rampant.  And so everyone thought I was trying to be Strider, which I hated only slightly less than all those morons with variations of Drizzzztxxx running around.

So he died and went to character heaven within a week and was replaced by Keldron, named for the street next to the one I lived on at the time. 

3.  Have you kept a specific name through various games, or do you tend to change your naming habits based on the individual game?

It changes based on the lore of the game and also my own whims.  For historical games, historical names, for lighthearted games, lighthearted names, for games that have an immersive RP guide, immersive RP names.

The only thing that threw this was reading Glen Cook’s The Black Company a few years ago, where I finally realized some of these off the wall MMO names weren’t all that jarring when placed in the right context.

I do have some standard fantasy name fallbacks though:  Keldron for my ranged dps/magic guy.  Ehrlinger for my dark knight/tank character.  Ghosthawk for any ranger/shaman type character.  Bresal for any Druid (one of the historica/mythic high druids).  Cailte for a bard (also historic).  Roxette for my dangerous thief char. etc.

4.  Do you ever reserve names, planning to use them for characters that you might play later?  If so, what are they and why do you hold on to them?

Nah, mainly because theres enough people that if they wanted it, they will come up with a variant on it that I will eventually see and it will drive me nuts.  I like original names, so I try to be original.

5.  Of the three common archetypes in MMOs — tank, healer, DPS — which is your current main character?

Um, well.  Since I’m playing non-traditional mmo’s…

In EVE I’m basically kitted out as a tackler or tank, so I guess Tank there, but that will change eventually to EWAR (Control?)

In PotBS, I guess the Privateer mainly functions as a hybrid Debuffer/DPS, which I enjoy in that game.

6.  What archetype was your very first character in an MMO?  Why did you choose it?

Ranged DPS/ Utility. I went through this in the last entry, how this was my favorite.  I love being a catch all, thus I love Druids (Vanguard), Magicians and Bards (EQOA, EQ, EQ2, DAoC), and occasionally Ranger/Hunters (LotRO, WAR, DAoC).  And yes, Shaman (WoW).

7.  Are you usually attracted to one archetype over another, or do you play them equally?  Why?

I have no idea. There is just some inner need to be useful or to not be caught with my pants down, or maybe some minor ADD that is game related and keeps me hopping from playstyle to playstyle.  Thus being a hybrid helps with that. (?)  If its the former though, I’d think I would be playing a healer more often, and quite frankly, I don’t think I’ve ever played a full time healer character before.

8.  What is your favorite feature from an MMO you no longer play?

Oi.  There’s lots.  Mostly I love the Character Creation options in CoX and Shadowbane.  And I love games with a large variety of classes because they tend to include more hybrids and thus its easier to find my favorite form of hybrid.

Specifically one of the cooler features I miss is in EQ2, where you could take over your pet!  I loved pulling and tanking with my skeletal warrior when my group needed it!  There’s alot of other stuff I miss from EQ2 as well, which is why when the EQ 51/50 thing goes live, PotBS will become a Station Pass.  I don’t care if it costs more, I gotta have my fix! lol….

9.  Is there an MMO that you would play if it was free?  Which and why?

That MMO for me was Shadowbane, and play it I did.  The trick is how to make it free and keep people from feeling they needto or would have significant advantages by dual boxing.

10.  How do you measure the success of a character in an MMO (total kills, titles accumulated, wealth, rare items collected, level reached, etc.)?

If I’m having fun with it, its successful.  If I’m not, then its time to stop.  Life is to short to pay for and play a game that is not entertaining you.

One thought on “Meme 2: What’s in a Name?

  1. Ooo controversy over in Genda’s yard! I missed that while my mother was visiting. /clicky linky /get popcorn

    It’s going to be really tame after all that, isn’t it? 😀

Comments are closed.