Learning to Let It Go

First of all, a public and hearty thank you to The Ancient Gaming Noob for completely blowing up my blog yesterday.  There were actually little WordPress Gnomes leaping from my laptop with their hair on fire, screaming “WTH!”  In what turned out to be a momentous day, I’ve also been added to the blogrolls of the Eve Bloggers, Eve Pictures, and Stylish Corpse.  Thank you all and welcome all you new people.

Last night I got a good lesson in what it means to take a deep breath and say “shit happens.”  Last night I watch a corp lose two capital ships on behalf of a neutral corp gettig ganked by pirates, that neutral corp losing several battleships and battlecruisers standing side by side with that corp when the pirates dropped a  cyno and brought it a host of caps.  And I saw that same “pirate fleet” issuing diplomatic communiques afterwards because it had all been precipitated by the two pronged risk of a Not Blue (Friendly) Shoot It (or NBSI) policy and not updating their standings with other corps like ours in a timely manner – or apparently, in their case, at all.

I should have been dead.  Course the only thing I would have lost would be my little cruiser, and the only thing I did lose was ISK for a repair and one of my combat drones.  Some people there lost in excess of a billion ISK in caps and modules!

When the dust settled, the neutral corp apologized to us for our losses, and our FC, with aplomb replied, “shit happens.”  And in turn apologized that they had sustained cap losses on behalf of us, not their favorite people in the world.  Their reply?  “Shit happens.”  Because we had a guy who was able to let go of the night and say, its just a game, and because we had displayed loyalty and guts by sticking around with them, we earned new friends.

In a game like EVE, letting go is doubly hard, since you can put a real world price on your losses through the advent of the PLEX and its soft cap of 300 million ISK.  And because many of the veteran players have, at this point, years of their life and hundreds of dollars invested.  And its a game that breeds frustration with its pacing and focus on PvP.

And yet, there are apparently significant numbers of players for whom honor is important, loyalty is treasured, and for whom diplomacy is always an option.  Does that happen in Darkfall?  Shadowbane?  Other PvP games?  The one time in Shadowbane I stuck around to help a teammate, all I got was hosed followed by the generally accepted advice never to stick my neck out for anyone, even a guildmate…We’ve all seen the videos of FPS players throwing keyboards, monitors, and even CPU’s at other people.

What is it about EVE that is different? 

So me, I just learned to let it go, to give it my all, and to stick to my guns.  I like that this game seems to, so far, reward that.

3 thoughts on “Learning to Let It Go

  1. JC

    I think what makes EVE different is that everyone knows that at any time “it could be me.” I’ve never been in a big fleet fight, but from what my friends who have been tell me, a lot of the time who lives and who dies is just sheer dumb luck of whether or not you get called as a target by the opposing FC — and this applies to all ships sizes.

    I haven’t done too much pvp, and when I have it’s generally been 1v1 and I got my ass handed to me, but… hey, you learn for next time, get some ideas of things to train for, and I expect that someday it’s going to be me handing out the smackdown instead.

    It almost seems to come down to the cliche “You only fail if you quit.” There’s always something more to learn, a different strategy to try, different ship to fly, etc. So when “shit happens” — sure, maybe it hit you today, but maybe tomorrow you’ll be the one dishing it out.

    I just found your blog today, and I’m enjoying reading your older posts. I see some screenies from Teon — I have a jump clone and some ships down in Gulfonodi and Gelfiven. Perhaps I’ll jump down someday and see if I can find you.

  2. Tavi

    Yeah. Learning to let go is key. Even though I have invested real money in the game (I don’t have enough time online to generate as much as I need to support my ship habit.), I’ve learned to take the losses in stride and look forward to the day when I’m good enough to really dish it back.

    I’ve learned to look at pirates and PvP as part of the backdrop that makes trips into low sec exciting and help keep you on your toes.

    My most expensive loss was from being stupid enough to fly a freighter into Tama to pick up cargo that would have fit into an Iteron I, let alone a freighter.

    It did take 18 of them to pop it before I could turn the beast back toward station. So now I have a transport ship with a covert ops cloak, and I look forward to frustrating their efforts to take out the guy with the temerity to do business in their system.
    And I’ve trained those skills to align much faster.
    Live and learn. Die and learn.

  3. HarbingerZero

    @ JC: Feel free too. My pilots name is on the website, but actually unintentionally “hidden” in the Meme post about character names. Its Acer Tinkari.

    @ Tavi: I wouldn’t mind owning of of those beast my self one day, and I can see why it would be a fat target! One guy in my corp always tells people to suck it up, because he’s the guy that lost a freighter *and* 2 billion ISK worth of our corps materials. The basic message is, if I can survive that, you can survive the loss of your precious [insert PvP ship here]. (-:

Comments are closed.