How Not To Treat New Recruits

[consoling Bart] What did you expect? “Welcome, sonny”? “Make yourself at home”? “Marry my daughter”? You’ve got to remember that these are just simple farmers. These are people of the land. The common clay of the new West. You know… morons.

~ Gene Wilder, Blazing Saddles

The following is an actual in game conversation from my corporation.  Names have been changed to protect the guilty, even though they don’t deserve it.  I hope your corp is doing a better job than mine is.

 

Veteran Pilot 1 > Anyone want to help me kill this drake?

New Pilot* > sorry I am to far away 

[*English is not his primary language]

Veteran Pilot 1 > lol you don’t even know where the WH enterance is

Veteran Pilot 1 > rofl

New Pilot > [system a half dozen or so jumps from where our current home base is]

New Pilot > i AM

Veteran Pilot 1 > Actually the WH enterance is in [system even further away]

New Pilot > 14 JUMPS FOR ME

Veteran Pilot 1 > wow 14 jumps!

Veteran Pilot 2 > taht so many@!

…[discussion of what all is in the wormhole, needed load outs, etc.]

New Pilot > omw

Veteran Pilot 1 > forget it, it’s 14 jumps

New Pilot > are u sure?

Veteran Pilot 1 > yup

New Pilot > as u want

Veteran Pilot 2 > pvp cancelled on account of jumping required.

Veteran Pilot 1 > lol high five Veteran Pilot 2

 

I can think of a half dozen ways this could have been handled better, and so can you.  Which reminds me, I’m corp curious at the moment.  I may pause training on my main for a few minutes to have my alt train corporation management and start one, just so I can play around with the controls and options and such.

2 thoughts on “How Not To Treat New Recruits

  1. wow, that’s messed up. Are either of those two the CEO or directors? I’d have said something about it to them if not, that’s just wrong to treat a new corp member like that.

    1. HarbingerZero

      Neither of those two are in the command structure for the alliance, no. I do not remember if the CEO was on or not, but one of the ranking members of our corp was.

Comments are closed.