It Was My Birthday, and I’ll Blog If I Want To

It was my birthday this weekend!  So no post on Friday as I wound up to family coming in from out of town, a surprise party at home from the neighbors and a not so surprise party at work.

It was grand fun and I can’t say that I’ve gotten a bad present at all.   It’s been a tremendous year, personally, and if you must pry (we must, we must)…it was my 30th birthday.  So now I’m old.  Or not.  It’s all relative.

But what does this mean for you the reader?  Well I wanted to tell you about the gaming related presents I got, some cutting edge, and some nostalgic:

On the nostalgic side, I received a copy of Civilization IV: The Complete Edition.  And I’ll be honest, I’ve already been sucked back in.  The first Civ came out when I was in middle school, and our history/social studies teacher got a grant and got four copies installed to use as teaching aids.  He had us come down and learn it so we could teach the younger kids and lead them through games of simulated history.  It was one of my first game addictions, and I of course bought Civ II when it came out, and found it to be…disappointing somehow.  It lacked the magictouch of the first.  But IV has recaptured me completely.  I love the new features (at least new to me) and the cool factor being able to say that I’m producing Celtic Longbowmen at the moment to repel the Zulu invasion of northeast Asia.

Second was the King’s Bounty remake.  I haven’t had a chance to play it yet, but it should tell you something that I still have the CGW issue that had the review of the original game in it.

Third, my blessed inlaws did some research and decided that since I play online so much, I needed a kick-butt headset to play on.  So last night when I booted up EVE Online, I slipped on my ultra cool Razer Carcharias to “command in comfort” as the article says.  They did not disappoint.

And last, but far from least, that which I have been wanting for oh so long, a new laptop.  One that could handle games requiring more than 512 ram and 32 mb video card requirements…

It purrs.  I’m not kidding, its slick.

Dell Studio XPS 16

Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 (6MB cache/2.66GHz/1066Mhz FSB)

4GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1067MHz (2 Dimms)

ATI Mobility RADEON® HD 3670 – 512MB

500GB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive

Soundblaster X-Fi Hi Def Audio – Software Enabled

BluRay Disc Combo (DVD/CD read/write + BD read) Slot Load Drive

9-Cell Battery

Edge-to-Edge FullHD Widescreen 16.0 inch RGBLED LCD (1920×1080) W/2.0 MP Webcam

 

Can you tell how excited I am?  Add to that my saintly grandmother’s annual offering of cold hard cash with the only stipulation being that I spend it “on something fun for [my]self” and we have some good times ahead!   Your ideas and game suggestions are welcome.  Currently on the list of possible expenditures:  Station Pass, PLEX.

4 thoughts on “It Was My Birthday, and I’ll Blog If I Want To

  1. Tavi

    Woohoo! Very nice. Happy birthday. I just bought that headset last week. I really like it but it does get a bit heavy after a few hours.

    The laptop sounds perfect. On my older laptop, I can run two EVE clients on a single core, 1 GB of RAM , and some old ATI Xpress mobile variant, so yours should rock. Hell, except for the video, it slams my gaming PC.

    As for PLEX, it’s really a time vs money debate for me. I don’t have much time to do all the mining, missioning, market trading, etc, that some of those single guys do, so I’ve used the PLEX here and there to get some nice toys in game. Sometimes I think I’m crazy to put real money into virtual things, but it sure is fun to fly around in very expensive ships.

  2. Pingback: Another Birthday Come and Gone « Harbinger Zero

Comments are closed.