Fit the Pilgrim Part II

So after some – okay, lots – of good feedback, here’s round 2 of fitting my Pilgrim.  The salient points:

1) Someone pointed out that I had no way to draw aggro from the drones.  And nobody liked the tractor, so I swapped it out for an…antagonizer.

2) The sensor booster was cake, and as we all know, the cake is a lie.  So I added an afterburner instead.

3) The drone selection was…poor.  I have chosen more wisely this time.

Behold:

[Pilgrim, Low Sec Recon]

280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I (Domination Carbonized Lead S)
Core Probe Launcher I (Core Scanner Probe I)
Salvager I
Covert Ops Cloaking Device II

Codebreaker I
Analyzer I
Cap Recharger II
Omnidirectional Tracking Link I
Y-S8 Hydrocarbon I Afterburners

Damage Control II
Medium Armor Repairer II
Co-Processor II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

2x Medium Gravity Capacitor Upgrade I

5x Hammerhead II
5x Hobgoblin II
5x Warrior II
5x Vespa EC-600

10 thoughts on “Fit the Pilgrim Part II

  1. I am bit unsure what you actually want. Your first posting and answers on it seemed to be PvP oriented. This… ‘thing’… you have created above seems like some carebearing pimp mobile of doom or what.

    1. From my comment on the last post: “Yeah my boat will primarily be PVE, scouting sites for our miners and earning me some cash until I can unlock something higher level missions in our current area of operations.”

      Hopefully that clears up the confusions a little. (-: “Carebearing pimp mobile of doom” – that’s singularly awesome. That’s definitely going in my bio man!

      1. It is the first Pilgrim fit for such purpose I see, but why not. It is cloaky and can do what you want it to do well. I would advice you few things though.

        Once you try to break into some containers, you will release here and then some NPCs. I would try to get rid of that co-processor and improve the tanking of your Pilgrim with a resistance plating against rats in your area. Just spent that bit time for highe recon skill, that ship class is awesome and it will pay itself out in long term.

        That tracking computer for your single gun and gun itself is retarded. What you need them for? You do not need to agress anything, you are avoiding fight and maximally tank few rats on you before bailing out. If your drones get under fire, you call them back and let rat lock you instead. So drop those 2 modules and fit something more useful.

        You can try to fit in medium energy vampire too help your cap while tanking (I am not sure it works on NPCs but you can as well suck out from your friends), tractor beam for pulling friendly cans (this do not work for ninja salvaging), small remote armor repair module to patch your drones on the fly. In the middle add 2nd cap recharger.

        I can fit without problems following (and you can get enough CPU just over recon skill):

        [Pilgrim, Explorer]
        1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
        Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
        Energized Magnetic Membrane II
        Medium Armor Repairer II
        Damage Control II

        10MN Afterburner II
        Cap Recharger II
        Cap Recharger II
        Analyzer I
        Codebreaker I

        Small Remote Armor Repair System II
        Salvager I
        Core Probe Launcher I, Core Scanner Probe I
        Covert Ops Cloaking Device II

        Medium Salvage Tackle I
        Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I

        Hammerhead II x5
        Hobgoblin II x5
        Warrior II x5
        Vespa EC-600 x5

      2. X –

        I don’t have a tracker for the gun – that module is a buff for the drones, playing again to the strengths of the boat. I can’t fit anything without the co-processor, at least not for another month, after I finish Command Ship training. If the aggro situation is ok, then I will be swapping the gun back out for a tractor beam. And, if I have a gun and/or aggro is fine, I don’t need a remote repper.

        Again, all of this is based on the highest rated Battleclinic fit for a Pilgrim, I didn’t pull this out of my backside:

        http://eve.battleclinic.com/loadout/32439-Pilgrim-All-in-one-Low-Sec-exploration.html

    2. My bad, never seen used that module. But I am usually doing just into PvP. 🙂

      I am interesting how it worked out actually, would not mind to carebear with such fit in own territory a bit.

  2. I could not resist. I put together Pilgrim fit that would suit my skills most and try it out in 0.0 running Gurista exploration sites for fun (up to -0.3 security). I eventually lost the ship to rats, but well, it was piloting error and bit more rats as one would consider safe. Finally Pilgrim is not Ishtar…

    Pilgrim fit as I lost it payed itself twice back and I had real fun. I did some experimenting with the fit and swapped that night 1600mm plate out for N-Type Kinetic Hardener I. I am pretty sure I would make it out there with plate on me, 2k armor is really little for ship with not so high natural bonuses and pilot, that never really did exploration.

    Though I am considering in future give a try to following version:

    [Xs Explorer Gur]
    Armor Kinetic Hardener II
    Armor Kinetic Hardener II
    Armor Thermic Hardener II
    Medium Armor Repairer II
    Medium Armor Repairer II
    10MN Afterburner II
    Large Capacitor Battery II
    Large Capacitor Battery II
    Analyzer I
    Codebreaker I
    Salvager I
    Sisters Core Probe Launcher,Core Scanner Probe I
    Covert Ops Cloaking Device II
    Small Tractor Beam I
    Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I
    Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I

    However, this fit needs Recon ships 5 first.

    1. I like it. The resists have got to be insane on it. I think when I finish up Battlecruiser V I’m going back and doing Recon V and try it out. I’ve discovered I have no desire to pilot Battleships at this point, so I’m just going to spread out my medium and small ships skills.

  3. Saji'us

    Yup thats my fit on battle clinic alright. Good to see people are using it and I had no clue it was the highest rated PVE pilgrim on there. Anyway when I posted that fit I had Radar and Magnometric sites in mind for my primary exploration target sites.

    I fully understand that you wanted to wait till you were done with Command shjps to train for this, but judging ny the last posts date it seems you should be done now, so let me know how you like it when you get recon ships to 4 or maybe even 5. Thanks for using my fit, an its honestly really co to see my exploration fit as a topic for an EVE blog =)

    1. Saji’us,

      Welcome! I have gone back now and picked up Recon 4 and it made a huge difference. I really like the fit alot, and its cool to have the famous author stop by! On the downside, we’ve been war-decced to the eyeballs ever since I wrote this, and I haven’t been able to use it all that much. )-:

Comments are closed.