Pulled In Every Direction

We all have those frustrating times, where, as gamers, we feel the crunch of real life.  Sometimes though, we feel the crunch of game life too, don’t we?

I have so much I want to do, so many things I want to accomplish in my games, that I just can’t seem to get enough time.  It’s rather ludicrous I’m sure.  I get, on any given week, about 3 decent gaming nights, where I can log in and play, mostly uninterrupted, for 3 hours or so.  Another 3 nights a week, I can usually get an hour in, sometimes two.  So, I fit into that 11-15 hour a week bracket.  Not nearly as much as some of you, I’d wager, and not as much as I’d like.  But all things considered – it should be more than enough.

EVE works well in this, with its paced skill training.  I can log in or not, accomplish some things in the time period I’m on, and I don’t feel a sense of urgency – like I’ve missed something important and now feel flustered that I have to keep up.  That’s one of the reasons its lasted so long.  Here, I want to contribute something to my mostly industrial based corp, and finish up some personal goals of raising Amarr standings and getting into a Command Ship.

I also used my Christmas money to shell out for the reduced rate one-year sub on STO.  As others have noted, its a good game for an hour diversion, do a mission or two, and then on to other things.  Some of the Casualties guild though have already max leveled, apparently unaware that Cryptic has doggedly refused to follow the models for advancement that some other MMO’s have.  For me, I’d like to get into my T3 ship – probably an Akira of some sort, despite my Science background.  I’m still a good 5.5 levels away though.

And that’s currently it, outside of the 15 minutes a day or so I make with my freebie game The Reincarnation.  And I’d still like to get that epic fantasy empire shared-writing/game thing going.

And I’m feeling a void still.  I had great fun in Star Wars this past month, and it ate into my time in all of the above games.  And I have looked longingly at the new EQ2 expansion, much to my disgust (the expansion, like the last several, offers nothing to players who are not already top level or close to it).  I even have a small urge to take another swing at Vanguard.  Which is leading me to believe I have a fantasy itch to scratch somewhere along the line.

But…if I pick up another MMO, or even dive into a single player game – I get that much more frustrated at not being able to do the things I want to do in the other games.  I’m sure this is a byproduct of stress in my real life.  The more difficult things are here, the more I want to kick back and have fun somewhere else.  And things are pretty difficult here right now.  So much so that even on some of the good gaming nights, I never even crack open my computer.  I can’t manage the emotional or mental energy to commit to even playing a game, I just kinda veg out.  And that just adds vinegar to the wounds.

Anyway, enough of my griping.  Life is difficult, but there are others with much more difficult things to deal with.  And there are people with lots more game time than me, but also people with alot less.  So I guess the message of the day here from Harbinger Zero is this:

Play what you can, when you can, and enjoy every minute of it.  And I’ll try to do the same.

