State of My Game: September ’10

Well looks like I have shingles for another week – this according to my latest doctors visit on Monday.  I’ve also been told that I was lucky that we caught it early.  Normally shingles on the torso manifests around one nerver branch – with the rash covering perhaps a rib or two.   Mine is vertical from the top of my shoulderblade to midway down my back, wrapping around all the way to the front.   This week the fun has been numbness and itching, which don’t go well together.  Because it itches, and you try to scratch it, but you can’t feel anything.  Oi.

Anyway, onward to the games  (its more fun this way – if you see a game you dont play/dont like, just skip to the next one!):

EVE Online

I’ve decided to rest this one for awhile.  While there is alot still on my training list and I’d like to do planetary interaction, I just can’t seem to get motivated to do much more than change skills and sign in once a week to run a mission or two.  That’s still plenty of entertainment for $15, but I have other areas that would be probably more fun and productive.  My one big regret here is that this means the corp will probably sell that big beautiful Damnation they were building for me…

Star Trek Online

I swear I’m going to get that Akira before my sub lapses in February.  Consider it my other yearly goal or something.  Plus I want to see these new diplomacy missions.  Sadly enough though – I watched the AMC Star Trek Movie marathon last week (two weeks?) ago, and even that didn’t movitate me to play…

Champions Online

Free game time, for anyone (not just past account holders – new players will have access to the whole game) from today to September 7th.  That will be just enough time for me to check in on my favorite superhero and teleport around a bit.  And probably just enough time to get bored with the game again.

Fallen Earth

 Last night I went to cancel my subscription because my free time was out and I haven’t seen hide nor hair of my brother since he bought The Guild 2 (for the unfamiliar – its like a medieval version of The Sims).  I could have played some solo and been fine, but after 3 solid weeks of adventuring in the game, I was ready for a little break.  That turned into a big break when…well more on that later.  Anyway, as it turns out, they had billed my card for the month’s sub one hour and forty five minutes before I logged in to cancel.  I was *that close.*  Last night I was pissed about it, grumbling, and considered asking for the money back.  This morning though, I was of a more philosophical frame of mind.  The studio could probably use my money, I like what they’ve done, I’m not sure I’m really done with the game yet, etc.   Let it never be said that I’m not a generous person!

The Reincarnation

 And this is the reason I haven’t logged in to much in the MMORPG world lately.  My favorite free game heated up again when we got into a major war.  A three way alliance of guilds, totaling 77 players, taking on the servers favorite guild of villainous backstabbing players, totaling 30 in number.  Not fair yes, but the enemy brought it on their own head – running their mouth, trying to sneak spies into other guilds, leftover hostility from betrayals last set, etc.   I give them credit,  they were losing tactically just by shear numbers, but they made up for it strategically and diplomatically.  At first they war dec’d everyone, which caused us all to waste turns and trip over each other.  You can’t share battle reports and spell logs if you are not allied, and most of the other guilds weren’t going to ally for any number of reasons.  Then yesterday they simply disbanded their guild, leaving us to rebuild our enemylistings and battle morale issues from some of our guys who were ready to be done and thought that should be the end of it.   Thus far we’ve gotten 7 of them and only lost 1 of ours, and we have perhaps another 6 of theirs on the ropes that will go down in the next couple of days.   It will still make for a tough Armageddon though because we haven’t been able to drag down many of their top mages.  I’ve enjoyed being the guild leader again this set, particularly with all the diplomatic hurdles and hoops I’ve had to jump through.  Makes me want to play more Vanguard!

EQ2X

Yes, yes, yes.  I’ve really enjoyed it so far.  The limited races and classes has actually *helped* my game.  I know I can’t create mulitple crafting alts.  I know I can’t hoard my gold, I need to spend it on gear.  I’ve discovered two new classes that I passed over before that I really really enjoy (Warlock and Inquisitor).  I really like the new twists they put on the starter areas (yay no more annoying little girls in Feydark!)  though I still really do miss the trial islands.  And I’ve come to accept the fact that I like the Neriak and Gorowyn starting areas best, despite my earlier Gorowyn gripes.  The change up in skills was not as bad as I thought, and the new appearance flexibility goes way beyond what I imagined (you can be using a sword and board for group play and yet look like you are dual wielding axes, etc).  Some of the RP skills I liked (Summon Food and Water for example) are actually still available, but are considered “fun” spells now and can be purchased rather than given automatically.   Plus, I ran into someone who had transferred their level 90 over (a Shadowknight, what else?) and we had a good time talking as he ran me through Darklight Woods to the tune of 6 levels and 7 AA points.  While dumping a mound of gold on me (would have been platinum, but there’s that pesky cap on money).   I don’t know if this is representative of the whole game or not – but our group consisted of him with an active account, me with an inactive account – and two brand new players.   That’s a great sign for the game I think.

All that – and more than anything, all I want to do is shell out for a Station Pass.  How said is that?  All these good games, many of them for free, and I still want to spend money.  I guess the F2P systems works somehow then.  Perhaps alot like it worked for Wizards of the Coast when 3rd edition DnD dropped.  The Core Rules were free – but everything else cost ya.  And it made them truckloads of cash.

The downside is that it also made them greedy – hence no free stuff in 4th edition (I wish someone would take them to court over this, because I think they would win considering their public pledge that Dungeons and Dragons would henceforth, always and forever, be free).  But that would never happen to our friends in the MMO industry would it?

5 thoughts on “State of My Game: September ’10

  1. First, let me say thanks for writing this blog. As a long-time MMO player, it’s refreshing to see reviews and re-plays of games I’ve played, thought about playing, or never knew about.

    Reincarnation…. are you referring to the game once known as Archmage? I haven’t played that in years!

    With regards to D&D… as someone who owns a tabletop RPG company, I have to say that while it’s still possible to produce third-party supplements for 4E and for fans to create their own free works, yes, I do miss the SRD. With that said, however, Wizards is going to make getting into 4E much easier – the new “Red Box” starter set will contain the full rules, and be priced about the same as a family board game at Wal-Mart. Granted, it will have a reduced number of classes, races, and powers, but it will have new content not printed anywhere else, drawing in those of us who shelled out the $90 for the original three-book set. Wizards has slicked up their business model as far as 4E goes, and it’s not as rage-inducing as their original launch plans for 4E.

    Take that with a grain of salt, though, as I’m one of the only people I know that actually thoroughly enjoys 4E.

    Your comments about EQ2X have gotten me curious. I’ll have to reinstall my copy and see what all the fuss is about.

    1. EQ2X, despite being the same game as EQ2 actually forces a new install in separate directory. So I wouldn’t reinstall unless you are going to re up your sub. I do like the free version though, my one complaint being that you can pay to unlock additional races but not additional classes. Look for me in game (though probably not over this holiday weekend) – Ehrlinger and Ghosthawk are my two characters.

      I have come to appreciate 4E alot in the last 6 months or so! My main gripe when it released (beyond that already mentioned) was that it forced players to use a grid. 3E leaned you heavily in that direction, but a creative GM could get around it for those groups that did not use grids – which, IMHO is majority of the gaming groups out there. 4E makes it impossible. That said, it is a well designed system with alot to commend it.

      Yes! I am referring to Archmage! Mari sold it years ago when they went belly up. You can find it these days at http://www.the-reincarnation.com I love almost all the changes and updates the new owners have put in over the years, and they currently have about 5 servers up (Guild, Solo, Blitz, Arch, ArchWar) plus the Beta. You should definitely come back and check it out. I have written of my guilds adventures a couple of times over the last year – check the categories on the left up there.

      And finally, thank you for the kind words. I enjoy the time I spend on the blog. And speaking of – holy smokes, I didn’t know you ran a publishing company! Didn’t I just see Aether advertised in my last DTRPG newsletter?

      1. I’m sure you did! DTRPG is our primary selling point.

        This weekend we’re selling print copies of our main titles at MAGECon in Sioux City, IA. In fact, I need to get dressed and head out now!

  2. Snipereagle1

    Hey man, you mean the nice, shiny Damnation that 2lost foolishly dropped in your hangar? We’ve wondered what’s up with you, you should stop by the forums now and then =). We’ve recently got a new corp member that has been a director in a multitude of 0.0 corps and alliances, that we know from a long time ago. Look for big changes in the middle-distant future…

Comments are closed.