Rifts Casts “Public Relations Failure;” Achieves Critical Success

ETA:  It should be noted that, unless I’m being punk’d, I got a personal letter of apology from Trion yesterday.  I’m on the road travelling today, but intend a full update post on this for the weekend.  For now…I have to say, I’m very impressed with that gesture and this post needs to be tempered with that knowledge as you read it.  ~ HZ

Its no secret that I have followed Rift: Planes of Telara with a  great deal of interest.   In part because of the class system, in part because of the dedication to a dynmic world and content, and in part because of the pedigree of the visionary who was originally behind it.

So when I saw an email in my account today that said: “Rift: Planes of Telara Beta Upgrade” I about fell out of my chair.  I hadn’t seen much of anything lately on Rift, and certainly didn’t know that Beta was coming!  I must be on the first wave of invites, how sweet is that!

Turns out, as I check the website, not so sweet.  Because there is no Rift Beta yet.  There are not even any established dates for when they might get to Beta.  I look in my inbox again.  Yep, says right there “Rift: Planes of Telara Beta Upgrade.”  Son of a …..

Look Trion, people get excited about Betas.  We love ’em.  Hell, we’ll sometimes, if the game is good enough, even pay *you* for the opportunity to be in them.  You do not send out emails indicating that our accounts have been upgraded for Beta, when you have done no such thing.  So at least now I know I will be in the Beta when it does happen right?  Because I’ve been upgraded, right?

No, I was upgraded with a code that gives me a chance at being selected for Beta.  Not a guarentee.  A chance.  Um…isn’t that what I got when I signed up to be in your Beta pool?  This gives you a better chance, they say.  A bettere chance than what?  Because you just upgraded *everyone’s* account with the same better chance code – which means we now all have….

Oh forget it.

3 thoughts on “Rifts Casts “Public Relations Failure;” Achieves Critical Success

  1. Pingback: Good Things, Small Packages « Harbinger Zero

  2. Pingback: Day Twelve: Whom You Admire | Harbinger Zero

  3. Pingback: Trion: Still Fumbling With Public Relations Four Years Later | Harbinger Zero

Comments are closed.