And We’re Off!

I wrote last night for about an hour and a half, pulling down 1,501 words to start off my novel for NaNoWriMo.

Problem:  Apparently you’re supposed to have more than that on a given day!  For some reason I had 1500 stuck in my head as the magic number, but of course that will not get you to 50,000 words in 30 days.  So my profile page says that number is 1733, and I am now 166 words behind.

However, I’m not all that worried about it and in fact kind of excited.  The truth is I followed some of their advice and didn’t really plan much in advance.  Not at all in fact.  I sat down, picked a theme that was weighing a bit on me, rifled through some old notes (I keep a bunch of ideas floating around), picked one that fit, and started writing.  It was easier than I thought.  The hard part, of course, comes in having to keep that up day after day.

In any case – here’s to day 1, and to hoping for success.

