20 Days: Day One – In Which I Introduce Myself

So I’m finally getting around to doing this.  It should be easy.  One question a day, talk about yourself – that’s not exactly rocket science, right?   But I’ve held back for awhile.  Part of it is that internet privacy thing – you want to keep yourself and your family safe, but at the same time, you want to have those connections, particularly when so many of our friendships are “online”, so to speak.  But I’ve decided to be a little more lax with the losses I’ve had this year so far and pondering how deep some of those online friendships have developed over the years.   I’m not giving you my address or anything, but you know what I’m saying…

 

The other part is something that I’ve gone back and forth on.  On the one hand, its nice to have the freedom to be “anonymous” on the internet, to appear to be a person without background (or bias).  One the other hand, I’ve often thought that my background gave me some unique insight into online communities and MMO’s.  So I guess it took a small dose of “oh hey, I’m not alone.”   When Rowan was kind enough to tweet one of my blog posts, I also saw a tweet of Syp’s tangled in there somehow (I’m still learning Twitter myself) that said he was prepping a sermon.  I headed over to the about page on Bio Break and learned something I had never known.   And I thought, well, if he tells people, I will too, lol.

 

Yep, I’m a pastor.  A Lutheran one…which means like my denominational namesake I occasionally swear and drink and  have “bull in a china shop” syndrome.  And that as irritated as I can get, its usually gone as quickly as it started.  My congregation is in the greater Nashville area, which is odd for me, as I group up a total beach bum in Florida.  But I love it.  I do keep a separate blog for my theological musings, so you won’t see any of that pop up here.

 

big-saint-martin-luther
‘Sup.

 

Outside of that, I grew up playing soccer, up to and including college ball.  I also play drums and love listening to music of all kinds.  I have three kids who provide me both with incredible headaches and the most precious life moments ever – because that’s what kids do!   I got my start in PC games with 5.25″ floppy disks with games like Armchair Quarterback, Bouncing Babies, and Zork.  Not long after I discovered Kampfrgruppe and F-15 Strike Eagle II and I was hooked.   Then I graduated into Their Finest Hour and Civilization.

 

I’ve been playing MMO’s regularly since 2003 – in fact, 10 years and 21 days ago:

 

eqoa1

 

To celebrate the occasion and this series, I have opted to open myself up to the big wide world of Tweeting, which will no doubt take some adjustment.  But you can follow me if you like and I will certainly follow you!  Just forgive me if it takes awhile to untangle the insanity of hashtags and handles.   I mean, I did make it up the learning cliff in EVE, so this should be a piece of cake, but you never know.

 

And here’s the rest of the schedule (which I’m sure will be interspersed with other things and may not be strictly 20 calendar days):

 

Day 01 – Introduce yourself

Day 02 – Why you decided to start a blog

Day 03 – Your first day playing an MMO

Day 04 – Your best gaming memories

Day 05 – Favorite item(s) in game

Day 06 – Your workplace/desk (photo and/or description)

Day 07 – The reason behind your blog’s name

Day 08 – 10 things we don’t know about you

Day 09 – Your first blog post

Day 10 – Blog/Website favourites

Day 11 – Bad habits and flaws

Day 12 – A usual day in your life/online time

Day 13 – People (players/bloggers) that you admire

Day 14 – This upsets you

Day 15 – Your desktop background (on your computer) and why you chose it

Day 16 – Things you miss about certain games from your past?

Day 17 – Your favorite spot (in game or outside it)?

Day 18 – Your favorite outfit?

Day 19 – In your bags/bank?

Day 20 – If this was your last day gaming, what would you do?

12 thoughts on “20 Days: Day One – In Which I Introduce Myself

  1. I remember 5 1/4 ” disks. Hah, you youngster, I remember Cassette tapes for my TRS-80.

    No, I’m not old I’m just prematurely gray.

  2. Ah finally go to it. And now I see where the ancient Greek and Hebrew fit in. I have a lay theological background, myself; though I am not currently practicing (struggles of faith and all that). I also lapsed on my 20 Days at 15. lol.

    It’s great to see you on #Twitter, you’ll get used to it. Like @Psychochild, I tend to use it like global chat.

    1. Yeah its a different thought process than blogging, but I’m warming up to it. (-: We don’t really see anyone as being lapsed, lol. Our perspective can be summarized as “The Bible is a bunch of stories about how we suck at being people of faith, but for some reason Jesus came anyway. Drinks for everyone!” (-;

  3. I always love knowing a little about the person whose blog I’m reading – doesn’t have to be loads, but it’s nice! It makes you a read more as a person, and less as a disembodied-cloud-voice-entity. I like it – thank you!

  4. Pingback: Ego: The Final Temptation | Stylish Corpse

  5. I’ve read this ages ago, but I never got around to answer…

    Your post made me actually check on the global distribution of Lutherans. For some reason, I had always thought that they were a sizable group around here (Germany, though I hail from the Catholic west… there is even a popular local song around here “I’m so happy I’m not Protestant”, but that’s about as much a friendly satirical jab against Catholics as it is against Protestants… but I digress), but never really did a lot of “expansion”, and most everybody else out there being Reformed.

    You live to learn!

    (Also, I was in Nashville less than a year ago. D’oh! I definitely would’ve found some time for a coffee.)

    1. Ah, man, opportunity lost! Well, I hope to take a trip to Germany in the next year or two to see the sights, Reformation and general historical, hopefully I can look you up then!

      Yes, there are a good number of Lutherans here in the US. Charleston SC, and St. Louis MS were the two southern gathering points, but the largest concentration is in the north – Wisconsin and Michigan (coming west from NY perhaps? I’m not as familiar with that transit).

      My brother is Catholic, so we have some good fun back and forth even in our own family. (-:

  6. If you do, you know my email address, or, if not, you can always get a contact address from my “about” page! As I said, I’m not from the area that forms the focal point of the reformation, but then again, Germany is small enough to get everywhere in half a day. Plus, the west has at least one “must see” point for visitors on a German tour in Cologne cathedral, which is just a hop and step away from where I live these days.

Comments are closed.