Of Skyrim and Stubborn Holdouts

So the Steam Summer Sale has been progressing.  I’ve three times now been tempted to pull the trigger on a deal, but I’m in a bit of a spending freeze, as I mentioned early.   I do have a small bit squirreled away and I’ve been trying to decide how to spend it.

 

Skyrim has been high on my list for awhile, and like Wilhelm, I was hopefuly that this sale would finally be the nudge that Bethesda needed to put Skyrim down at the $19.99 mark, where it belongs.   In years past with other TES offerings, there was always a price drop to that mark when the enevitable Game of the  Year Edition arrived.   I see the Legendary Edition as being a corollary to that, and so, despite (or perhaps because of) the fact that its taken them nearly two years to get there, I fully expected to see that price tag arrive.

 

But instead, we got this:

 

skyrim

 

So now I face a dilemma.  And the dilemma is not whether or not to buy, because I’m not going to.  The dilemma is this:  who is being more stubborn about this: Bethesda or me?

 

One the one hand, you can look at this and say: “Its one buck, get over it and enjoy a great game.  Are you kidding me, just get the Legendary edition since its cheaper than the GotY editions would have been at this point!”   And those arguments certainly have merit.

 

On the other hand, you can look at it and say: “Seriously?  You guys are so strapped for cash that you are making everyone pay $1 more than usual?  Or do you just think this TES is better and so commands a higher price?”

 

So that’s the question, which of us is being more stubborn?

 

8 thoughts on “Of Skyrim and Stubborn Holdouts

  1. I am not sure I can answer that poll in good faith. I totally said, at some past point, that I would finally buy Skyrim the moment it hit $20. And then the Steam summer sale put it in at $21. Part of me says, “What’s a dollar?” while the other part says, “Still not priced at $20 yet!”

    Anyway, that price seems to be good for the whole sale, so I can wait and debate and see if it comes up in a flash sale. But I think that if I was looking for something else to play, I would grab it. But with the new Civ V expansion, the war in Fountain, and actually making progress in LOTRO, I am not feeling the need to buy another game, which helps put the $21 price just out of reach.

      1. Thanks! I knew I wrote it somewhere… maybe more than once… but couldn’t recall where.

        Now, what about the Legendary Edition which is down to $36 on a flash sale RIGHT NOW?

        I really shouldn’t have grabbed the Steam mobile app.

  2. Here we have what can be a strange quirk of economics, one that fascinates me: There can be a difference between an individual’s stated price demand (the amount they are willing to pay for goods and services) and their actual price demand. In your case you’re holding firm at $19.99, whereas maybe Bethesda is hoping you’d be willing to part with a dollar more. Neither of you is really being unreasonable, though it shows that the invisible hand is not as precise as economists would really like to pretend. I’d consider it at $20.99, but I have both a lack of money and a lack of time for a new game right now.

    1. Actually, I think my first econ professor would be impressed with this little dilemma. I expect his response would be to hand me a dollar and some change and tell me that I could have that to cover the price difference if I bought Skyrim right then. That would help determine if we were looking at a really specific case of price elasticity or if I was just using the dollar price difference as an excuse because I really did not want the game even at the $20 level.

      I suspect, despite past statements, that the dollar is an excuse. It is sort of Schrödinger’s price point. But we won’t really know unless it hits my stated price.

      1. I suspect the same is true for me. Though the why could be different because I know can get several games for the same amount of money that I want just as much as that one. So the initial disappointment over the price point leads to a very human reaction – “tough, you missed your chance to sell me.” Which is an attitude that, I think, reinforces Rowan’s thought.

        In the grand scheme of things though, they will still probably sell plenty, and if you wanted to rationalize the extra buck, they are developing a high end MMO, so I’m sure they could use the extra cash…

      2. Yes, it’s the need to make choices in the face of scarce resources that fascinates me about Econ. As you say, even if Skyrim drops to your stated price point, you still have to decide whether you’d get more “utility” out of something else.

        My favorite example of utility is the cookie dilemma. Even given a free supply of cookies, you reach a point where you don’t want any more. The utility of the next cookie drops below the cost of eating it (the discomfort of being full, in this case).

  3. Pingback: Notes from Another Steam Summer Sale | The Ancient Gaming Noob

Comments are closed.