My First TERA Disappoint

Well, it was bound to happen sooner or later.

TERA is doing their Fall Carnival/Halloween Event right now, and it looks pretty cool. A daily mission where you break up the “Banquet of Blood” – a Vampire party. A group instance of defending a candy mound from a ridiculously evil “Its the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!” And, for those who are into that sort of thing, even a Halloween Costume Party!

I guess the answer is N.
I guess the answer is N.

The problem is the location. Flight points in TERA are unlocked not by having to visit the Flight Master, but by your character level, something I have applauded as a positive change to the usual. But it also means that I can’t get to the event locations, because I’m of a high enough level. I could run there, the old fashion way, having the nifty founder’s mount with a good bit of speed on it. But that’s not the only restriction…

If this event is anything like the last two (and a brief jaunt through the official forums confirms it is), then the daily carnival quests I described above are limited to high level characters – as in, my 20-something can’t even get the quest. No quest means no candy, no candy means no goodies from the Halloween vendor. And while it used to be that the gameworld itself was rigged to drop you some stuff no matter where you were, that no longer seems to be the case, so I literally have no way to get candy. None.

Back to leveling with you peon! Only those who have maxed level get to participate in the fun!

Which seems odd from a game design standpoint, but okay. Just means that instead of logging into TERA everyday to get candy (I really wanted the pet ghost, Boo), I will just do my usual leveling night here and there and keep logging into other games. Lost opportunity guys, lost opportunity.

Cute little feller, ain't he?
Cute little feller, ain’t he?

I could always buy some costumes from the store I guess…

…for $20?! I could almost buy my own horse for that.

Nevermind. I am disappoint.

4 thoughts on “My First TERA Disappoint

  1. Yeah… for me, I got to the main city and then promptly lost interest in the game. It didn’t help that Guild Wars 2 has its Halloween event going on right now, which is always a blast.

    1. Heh, its funny how we can be completely like minded on some stuff and polar opposites on others. (-: I did the GW2 Halloween event last year and it was one of the things that contributed to my “meh” feelings about the game, and the last time I’ve played it.

  2. eDr4g0ns

    Hi, just came across your blog while looking up TERA stuff. Just wanted to let you know that there is an event teleporter in most cities. A npc named Ellonia, Halloween guide, takes you to the cannon game. Only requirement is being level 10 to play the game.

    1. Thanks, I will try to track down Ellonia. Any tips on where to find her? Banquet of Blood is still level restricted though I take it? The other events (beach party and so on) are listed as being level restricted, and the forums indicated this one was as well.

Comments are closed.