The “10 Years 10 Questions” Post

Why not. I spent more than a year in WoW myself, so I’m qualified. And its for a worthy cause. Here ya go:

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

Well, my guild in Everquest Online Adventures (my first MMO) had struggled on after the guild leaders jumped ship when FFXI launched.  But after awhile it was just dead, no matter how hard the few remaining people tried to resurrect it.  Add to that the fact that I was just started seminary (which is a graduate level school for us, four years worth), and I knew I needed a casual game rather than a hardcore one.  Oh, and one that would run on an old compy since I couldn’t afford a new one.  WoW fit the bill in all respects.

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

A Dwarf Paladin, if memory serves.  I hated it.  Dwarves are too small to really enjoy the character art, and I didn’t really want to play Alliance to begin with (more on that below).  I did the starting zone, made it to the capital, logged out and rolled a Night Elf Druid.  I don’t think I ever took the Paladin out of the stable again.

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

Our little group included a friend from a more conservative faith background than me (I’m a Lutheran pastor, for those new to the blog), and he was uncomfortable playing the Horde.  I didn’t agree, and I’m bummed to this day that I just went along.  At the time though, I figured it was fine and I’d have a solo character on Horde, and I did, but…I just would have much rather preferred the Horde content and stories I think.  The Alliance never really fit.  And beyond that the character I really wanted was a Shaman, and at the time, you couldn’t get that on the Alliance side.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

I eventually settled into a Human Paladin who I named Kohen, which is Hebrew for priest.  I was learning Hebrew at the time and it seemed fitting.  I helped a Night Elf Priest with a wandering mob one night and got a tell – “Are you really a kohen?  Are you jewish?”  I replied no, that I was actually a Lutheran seminary student studying to be a pastor.  Turns out, the Night Elf was rabbi in real life.  We got a kick out of the fact that we were playing our own racial stereotypes.  Me the crusading white guy, and him the priest of the minority race. 

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

I don’t think I ever had one.   WoW was never a great game for me.  I just played it because I didn’t have a casual option, or at least I thought I didn’t.  If I had it to do over again we would have jumped into Everquest II, and I would probably have been a lifelong player of that game, getting in on the front edge like that.   I don’t remember why I passed over it, probably rumors of hardship and impending demise.

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

The tram between capitals.  Love that thing.  Adventure zone wise?  No, nothing really stuck out for me, and I liked the zones less and less the higher I leveled.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

I played for 15 months continuously, and have returned for two month long stints since then, as well as the occasional drop in play, particularly on the low level free account.

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Yes, which is why I am a slow leveler, even in WoW.  What’s funny is that the only time I don’t is in our little gaming group, where we generally run around like made completing quests and leveling as quickly as possible to make up for lost time (we don’t get to play as much as we’d like to).

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

I should have stuck to my guns about the faction choice and rolled a Forsaken Priest or Troll Shaman right out of the gate.  I kinda wish we had jumped on board a little later, right at Burning Crusade.  Rollin’ with a Drenai Shaman right out of the gate probably would have been more fun for me. 

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

It has been a common link with some of the fringe youth in my congregations.  It opened a doorway to conversation with them, and that has led to some great places. 


So there ya go.  If you want to check out some of the other responses, please do so here.