These Are A Few of My Favorite Things: DAW15 Part 2

So last time I thanked the SWTOR devs for their efforts. Today I want to highlight one of the things I appreciate about TERA.

While the game got raked over the coals in critiques, both socially and mechanically, there is one thing about TERA that I can not do in any other MMO that I play. One fun thing that nobody else really does. And that is that it has made me comfortable playing the game with the UI turned off, without having to mouse click any of my skills. Now to be fair, this is something that most ARPG’s and some MOBA’s have already gotten right – Diablo, Marvel Heroes, World of Tanks, etc. All of these can do that. But there are no straight MMORPG’s that I play that allow me that option and, more importantly, where that option of watching the fight unfold rather than watching numbers and buttons, is actually beneficial.

TERA_ScreenShot_20150402_144147

I actually took that screenshot above while fighting. And its not unusual for me to gather the quests in a given area, hit Ctrl+Z, and run off to play the game. Its refreshing (and immersive) to not have to look at boxes and buttons and wheels for a change. And TERA is a truly pretty game with lots of gorgeous landscape, interesting cities, and of course, colorful characters. Its kinda like playing an online version of Alice in Wonderland I suppose, and it has some unique charm in that.

So thank you En Masse and Bluehold developers, for creating a unique MMO that lets me feel even more like I’m at home in an RPG.

#daw2015, #tera, #mmo, #2015

2 thoughts on “These Are A Few of My Favorite Things: DAW15 Part 2

  1. I play ESO with a heavily modded UI that is as bare as bare minimum can get. So I know the feeling. Staring at buffs/procs/abilities is what turned me away from SWTOR actually, though I hear they’ve made some improvements on that front.

    But yeah the best UI is the UI that barely has to be there.

    1. While I have enjoyed a return to TOR, I will agree, its hard to do much other than stare at the bottom of the screen when you are in combat. I’ve been working on rearranging my abilities to try and get away from that somewhat, but I haven’t had much success.

Comments are closed.